Rhoda Omejia
4 min readFeb 24, 2018

The Egyptians you see today, you shall see no more!

Fear: cripples, discourages.

It is a mountain ⛰ that seems so high to climb; it interrogates us to the core. All it takes is Faith to step in the right direction, and fear fades and disappears gradually.

I have been crippled often by the enemy through fear, and in so many areas, I am still often hindered by fear! Easily said of quickly than done, “I am free,” but just showing up or taking a step in the right direction is half the battle.

On Sunday, while driving, God gave me this word: “The Egyptians you see today, you shall see no more” I was driving my car, and I kept repeating this word over and over and thinking, where did I get this from at that moment?And then the spirit of God kept it repeating in my mind, which is my spirit “The Egyptians you see today you shall see no more!” So, I quickly voiced my text, my husband because we drove separate cars that day to church and told him what I was hearing from the Lord. He then mentioned it is scripture. I was like, I do not know where it would be in the bible.

I am not a bible scholar, but I was sure I’ve come across this scripture, but at the time, I didn’t realize it. I then googled the text later and found the entire scripture: I read it, and then God gave me this encouragement to bless myself and you all.

Fear kept the children of Israel in bondage for several years. It kept them in slavery, and they became complacent and satisfied with where they were, to the extent that when God sent Moses, they did not want to follow him.

This verse comes along during their journey when Moses had to encourage them because even though they had left physically, due to fear and the fact that they are scared physically, spiritually, and emotionally, they were still captives of the Egyptians. Mentally, they were bonded and limited by what they always knew: to be a slave to their masters, the Egyptians.

As you read the Lord’s word, it is self-explanatory. I can relate with the Egyptians because a change in any aspect of our lives seems scary. It is painful, it seems impossible, etc., especially for those who have been bond for many years.

God took them out of Egypt, but due to fear, they resisted the freedom they always wanted and prayed for, by complaining!

Haven’t we all done that before??

We Complain about a job, a boss, and then when God removes us from that job either by promotion, change of departments, or even worse, getting fired, we freak out and complain, saying, see i wish this never happen “fear”.

I will rather instead stay working for ABC company or with ABC Boss, which is better than not having a job. Well, if you’re fired today.

Is God setting you up for something better? Is it an answer to your prayer, but since it is uncomfortable, you resist the change. Like the children of Israel, you look back at the dire situation and wish you were still at the job despite the conditions you faced and looking forward-the fear for your bills and everything natural causes you to panic!

They had a panic attack when they saw their slave masters pursuing them from the back, and then in front of them was also another obstacle to the Red sea. At this moment, all they had to do was to hold on to the only steady hand- God. Which is easier said than done, right??

They complained, but due to God’s grace and mercy, he still ignored their faithlessness and gave them away out when their situation seemed like there was no way out by parting the red sea. Now Moses, on the other hand; their leader, who had a relationship with God and understanding that the God he serves can do the impossible, encouraged them saying:

13. Moses answered the people, “Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the Lord will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again. 14 The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

Amen!

Let’s Pray

I speak this over your life as well as mine, and we agree and claim it today. God open our eyes and give us spiritual eyes so that we do not focus on our current situation and be moved by what we see but press forward in our walk and relationship with you to help us focus on what you have ahead for us. Open our spiritual eyes to see, open our spiritual ears to hear, and our mouth to speak your word over our situation and into each other’s problems. Give us the grace to walk in boldness and not in fear because you have not given us the spirit of fear but of love and a sound mind! Lord, we thank you for giving us freedom from fear. Please help us to walk in this freedom!

Amen!

Rhoda Omejia

Mompreneur| Relationship Coach|Life strategist Women & Marriage Empowerment— Healing advocate. Founder of @prayingwivesc linktr.ee/rhoda.omejia